We had summer..

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure where the summer went at my house…. I started early in the spring with all my plans to the outside of my house.  With a toddler, I desperately needed a fence this year.  My yard doesn’t have the traditional “back” and “front” like many homes.

I started the spring by digging out garden beds that had been back filled with rocks for things NOT to grow.  We all know thats impossible, I mean the weeds simply proved it.

I had only a few pavers in front of the house.  I’d always ended up stepping in the muddy awkward grass area before the gavel driveway.  I couldn’t wait to fix the solution.  That was before I got all the energy to start the project when I quickly realized how heavy the pavers actually were.  It took me longer than

Heres a quick before and after:

IMG_9907

1That was before I got all the energy to start the project when I quickly realized how heavy the pavers actually were. It took me longer than I actually expected….I also started the work on both the front and back decks with some white stain on all the railings.  I used a medium brown on the tread of the rest of the deck.

 I put the call out for some free plants on facebook.  A few people offered me some if I came and dug them up, which I did… happily!  Here is how they started.  The only thing that I knew for sure is, that the front ones were a day lily.

IMG_9999

Here is what I did after I removed the ugly, cracked paving stones (that must have weighed 100lbss?!)  I stacked some bricks along the side of the house to finish it off, planted a few spots of ground cover between the stones and planted some lavender by my front door.  For good luck, of course 😉

IMG_0475

I continued staining both the front and back deck till for what felt like days and nights.  Thank goodness for some of the help I had.  My friend and Neighbour came and moved a paintbrush beside me many evenings.  I always enjoy our convenient, short but frequent visits.  She has become a wonderful part of my new life at this home.

I had gone fully dressed to work many days with paint splatters that kept adding up.. my arms, toes and of course, in my hair.  No matter how much I showered… Haha I’m great at painting, but I never said I the cleanest painter! 😉

I came up with a design and had a contractor build the whole fence for me.  I was out there helping screw all the boards in along the way…

IMG_0643

IMG_0746

While the contractor was building, he found three spindle that were in the junk pile behind the shed.  I think they were part of an old deck that must have been attached in the past.  Either way, I couldn’t believe how the whole thing was working out so beautifully.2

a small narrow garden along the front of the new fence with some rocks along the edge, and a few new pots, my place spruced up pretty amazing in the end.  I believe my hard work paid off.

1

check out how big them little plants did in the corner… holy!

I planted some clematis to climb up the side of the pergola.  I added some mallow I grew from seed into the base, with a rain barrow to help water all the pots and raised flower beds and new shrubs.

13627172_10154246673085993_8978250409906949779_n

But my favourite part of the whole makeover was the addition of this tent off the back deck.  I found some pieces from facebook, yet again.  This part of my yard faces south, and I get a lot of direct sun on the side of the house with all the windows.  It sure was a relief in the heat for the kids over the summer, and a nice addition in the evenings with the little lights at the top.  I spent many pinterst nights out here, learning about gardening and doing small projects.

Leave a Reply

